From Finland to the MusikvereinRémy Ballot, Iris Ballot, and Anika Vavić present works by Finnish contemporary composer Kalevi Aho as well as Prokofieff, Shostakovich, Sibelius, and Rautavaara. Peter Kislinger (ORF) in conversation with the composer

Kalevi Aho (*1949)
In memoriam Pehr Henrik Nordgren - For violin solo (2009)

Serge Prokofiev (1891–1953)
Five melodies for violin and piano op. 35a

Jean Sibelius (1865–1957)
Impromptu op. 5/No. 6 (for piano)

Serge Prokofiev (1891–1953)
Suggestion diabolique op. 4/4 & Amoroso (6 pieces for piano from Cinderella op. 102/6)

Dmitri Shostakovich (1906–1975)
Lyric Waltz & Romance (from Dances of the Doll – Seven pieces for piano op. 91b)

Einojuhani Rautavaara (1928–2016)
The Death of the Mother of God & Two Village Saints (from cycle Ikonit / Icons for piano)
(3rd movement from the suite Lost Landscapes for violin and piano)

Dmitri Shostakovich (1906–1975)
Five pieces for two violins and piano
(arrangement/composition: Levon Atovmian)

Kalevi Aho (*1949)
Questions for two violins (for Rémy and Iris Ballot) (2022)
(world premiere)

With the friendly support of

  • Verein Sonderfonds Sylvi Kekkonen
  • TelepART Finnland-Institut
  • Elisabeth Schützenberger, Grieskirchen
  • Apl. Prof. Dr. Heimo Mairbäurl, Heidelberg

See reporting by The New Listener (pdf, de).